h1

Mark Kelsey Said What?

June 4, 2011

“… Tonight I’m talking about finances. And I’m thinking, “Now the real test of the water baptism ah, is gonna be portrayed. Because really – because it’s – I love seeing people water baptised because it’s great and it’s coming, you know, killing the old life and brand new life being resurrected, it’s awesome.

But it’s tomorrow when the rubber meets the road, whether we’re going to live that baptised life and whether every part of our life is baptised. Every part has to be baptised. Immersed in God. Immersed in the Holy Spirit. And ah – you know when you hit trials and what happens in those times? Do we live that resurrected “I’ve been baptised’ life? And that’s the deal.

So we’re going to talk about finances. Now some of you are going, ‘Okay’. Don’t shut off on me. Cos this is really an important part of our life. Who believes that? [Crowd responds]

All right! So! Here we go. I’m just gonna get suck straight into it. [65:00]

Now! Many people criticize the church for talking about money. Yet it is one of the most important things (who believes this?)- that we need to talk about. It is the thing that causes probably the most problems, most headaches and most stresses in people’s lives. Apparently, sixty seven percent of arguments in the first year of marriage are caused by financial problems. I don’t know who went out and start counting all those. And of course, eighty two percent of statistics are made up on the spot [crowd laughs].

Okay. But the previous statistic was true. Fifty per cent of marriages break up because of financial stress. Half of divorces are caused by marriage issues. Now! Who knows that for every issue in our [Crowd laughter] lives… [66:00] [Starts laughing embarrassingly. Crowd cheer and laugh].

Freudian slip! … Don’t you love watching Terrance and Emma, and the banter that goes on there? You know? It’s awesome… Just changing the subject. [Crowds laughs]

Now who knows to every issue we have, God has answers. Who believes that? For real?

The bible, in fact, talks ten times more about financial issues, then it does about the issue of faith or salvation. That shows you how important it is in our world. Now, let’s not to undermine salvation or faith, those things are foundational. Here’s the deal, there are two hundred and fifteen verses in the bible on faith, two hundred and eighteen verses on salvation and two thousand and eighty four verses on financial stewardship.

[67:00] I think God is trying to get our attention. [Crowd: Yeah!] He’s trying to get our attention. And if we don’t understand and implement what God has revealed to us about finances, then we are disempowered. And debt or the lack of finance begins to rule our lives. But I believe we need to be set free. The truth of God’s Word in every area can set us free. Who believes that? Anyone?

Now, I’m just going to give us, for the next few minutes, very quickly, (because I haven’t got much time), very quickly, understanding four areas of financial blessing. Financial understanding in our world.

The first one: understand the place of money. Everybody say place. [Audience: Place]

Now if we can only get money in its right place. And I don’t mean in your pocket, your wallet or in your bank account. I mean, positionally. Philosophically. In its right value, where does money sit in our world? To me one of the greatest scriptures is in Luke chapter sixteen [68:00] and verse nine to thirteen. It says this…

[I tell you, use worldly wealth… Reads Luke 16:9-13]

That’s a very unusual scripture. Now there’s all sorts of interpretations of that. My basic, simple, understanding is this. That if you got money, use money. If you’re generous with money, then you’ll make friends. That’s the deal.

How many movies have been made which the old tight scrooge, in which he holds onto his money, who’s a lonely old guy who’s a lonely old person. I don’t believe that. Whatever money we have, if we’re known for our generosity, we can have lots of friends. How awesome is that! And you don’t have to have a lot of money to be generous! To be with someone, be the first one to buy that coffee for them or muffin. Or something. Be a generous person. And when you’ve got no money, guess what? You’ll be welcomed into eternal dwellings.

When have you got no money? At the end. Because money will not go with you. But [69:00] then it goes on:

[Who ever can be trusted… Reads Luke 16:10-13]

Ok! Here’s the deal, the dealing – how we deal with money is a testing ground for whether we are capable of dealing with true riches. Money is not true riches. Money is not. There’s other true riches. The things of the kingdom, secrets to the kingdom of God, are the true riches. And God wants to give those things into your hands. And he uses your ability and faithfulness and trustworthiness of money to say, ‘Are we able to cope with those other things’. Who wants to handle their money a little better just now.

So I don’t know about you, but I want  true riches. Who wants true riches?

So here’s the deal. [70:00] Here’s this relationship between riches and true riches, between money and things that are really very valuable. It doesn’t end there.

[And if you’ve not been trustworthy… Reads Luke 16:10-13]

You cannot serve both God and money. Oh! I love one version that says, ‘You cannot serve both God and mammon’. Now we don’t use that word mammon very much. But who knows God is a spirit?

Mammon is the spirit of money. So you either worship the Spirit of God or the spirit of money. And when you love money more than God, then that is the God you are serving. But we don’t love money do we? We love God! And suddenly, when you love God first, money comes into its right place. [71:00]  Who’s getting a bit of knowledge here? And understanding? Everybody say place. [Crowd: Place]

So here’s the deal. Now we learnt this lesson early on, the whole issue of place and the power of this. Early days in the life of the church back when we used to meet at Brookvale. My wife and I, we were just a young married couple. We had a couple of young kids. And we- this particular stage, (I can’t remember what particular year this was), we had…

[Financial testimony, 71:30-73:30]

Point  number two. Point number two. Understand God’ provision. Understand the place of money. But understand His provision. Say this after me.

My God… [Crowd: My God]

Will supply… [Crowd: Will supply]

All my needs… [Crowd: All my needs]

According to his riches… [Crowd: According to his riches]

In glory… [Crowd: In glory]

Say this. He will [Crowd: He will]

Say it again. He will [Crowd: He will]

Provide. [Crowd: Provide]

Some of you really need to hear that tonight. We need to understand God will [74:00] provide. Some of you have gone through some massive financial challenges in the last two or three years. I know people in this church who have lost everything. I know people in this church who have lost millions of dollars. Some of you are thinking, ‘I would love millions of dollars… to lose”. [Laughter]

I know people who have lost businesses. I know people who have lost relationships because of loss of businesses. There has been crisis, But that does not take away from the fact that God will supply all your needs, knowing God’s provision. Knowing God’s provision.

A couple of quick scriptures.

[Beloved I pray, that you may prosper… Reads 3John 1:2]

God connects financial prosperity and health and soul prospering. And then I love this verse. Deuteronomy eight, eighteen:

[That you shall remember the Lord your God… Reads Deut 8:18]

The highest form of provision is not God providing. The highest form of provision is not God providing. The highest form of provision is Him giving you the power to make wealth. That is the highest form of provision. He gives you POWER to make wealth. Who would like that power? Anybody? Well the scripture talks about it! The scripture talks about it!

Now we’ve experienced this provision and power to make wealth. The best story I think for our lives is – Some of  you have heard me tell this story before, but I am going to tell it again because, because God is good! Who knows that God is good? And I love telling the stories of God’s power and God’s provision and God’s faithfulness.

[Gives testimony: 75:51-80:27]

… So one decision to step out on God’s provision led to houses being bought and two churches being planted and lives being transformed. God is a provider! Amen? [Crowd applaud] C’mon! Give the Lord a big hand! God is a provider. Say, ‘He provides’. [Crowd: He provides!]

Now the third thing! Understand the place of money. Understand the provision. And number three – understand the purpose of money. Say, ‘Purpose’. [Crowd: Purpose.]

Money has a purpose. Money has a purpose. I love this scripture. Second Corinthians chapter nine and verse six to eleven, (probably one of my favourite [81:00] passages of scripture to do with finance.) It says,

[Remember this. Whoever sows sparingly… Reads 2Cor 9:6-11]

Everyone say, ‘Cheerful giver’. [Crowd: Cheerful giver] Now I love this verse because it says, ‘Each man’. Everyone say, ‘Each man’. [Crowd: Each man.] So the thing is, in the kingdom of God, the kingdom of God expects that each should give! Everyone should give!

When you come to Christ- to us it was never a question. It wasn’t like- nobody even in fact- I can’t even remember hearing much about it. But when we came to Christ, you start to give. (Leave that scripture up. That would be great guys!)

And so- So each man should give what he’s decided. But the issue is not whether you should give. Your choice is what you should give. [82:00] That’s where you’ve got freedom. There should be no freedom in giving. We all should give. Because I think there should be an equal burden. There should be- sorry – we should all carry a piece of the burden of seeing the body of Christ grow, seeing the city won for God. Who believes that? Anyone?

It shouldn’t be on a few. If a few people scat- NO! Whatever you can carry, carry that! But your choice is what you’ve decided. But here’s the deal, ‘not reluctantly, or under compulsion’. Reluctance is internal negative pressure. Some people that come to church and it’s like- they’ve got their hand break on. It’s reluctance. It’s like, “Oh! Here they go! It’s money again’.

Suddenly the handbrake on the inside is like, ‘zzzheew!’ on the inside and there’s reluctance. Well God says, ‘Get rid of the reluctance! Don’t have reluctance! Come to church free with the handbrakes off! Come to church all- floppy- and loose. And like you know, ready’. Because it’s when the handbrake is off, [83:00] then joyfulness can be a part of your life. Then you worship with joy. You give with joy. You hang out and fellowship with joy.

Release the reluctance. So if there’s any reluctance in you, get rid of it! Those of you who got baptized, [Points to C3 baptism pool] that water is filled with reluctance right now’. That water is water reluctance. I can’t even imagine how dirty that water is. It’s been coming out of that drain right now. But reluctance is gone.

But also that other thing that’s gone is compulsion. Now compulsion is external negative pressure. That is, from us, from me, from anyone in this pulpit, we will not give you external negative pressure: [puts on irritating voice] ‘You must give’ and ‘The thing’ and [inauble]. That’s it! We remove all that!

We want you to give out of faith. We want you to give out of inspiration. We want you to give out of your commitment. They’ll be never, ever, ever any external compulsions. Why? Because God loves a cheerful giver. And it’s cheerful giving. Giving that is free based on truth. And then you discover the purpose of giving.

Check this scripture out. Keep going. The next verse. “And [84:00] God is able…” Everybody say God is able [Crowd: God is able], ‘to make all grace abound to you so then in all things, at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work”. And there we see, the purpose of giving. If we go back there on verse- “every good works”. Say ‘every good works’.  [audience repeats]. See here’s the deal. God wants you to be provided for, so that when every good work comes, you may be able to give- next verse. ‘And it is written, “He has scattered abroad his gifts to the poor. His righteousness endures forever’. I love that!

I would love the sense that we as believers have the ability to scatter. You’ve got enough finances. So you just throw it out there, your finances scattered to the poor. I get surprised how much out of this house goes to people in need, goes to people because of social justice issues, goes to the poor, goes to the street kids [85:00], goes to the kids in Sri Lanka, goes to the kids in Indonesia. It’s amazing what happens. We- you guys are scattering your gifts to the poor all over the world. How awesome is that? I think the Lord deserves a hand just for that- and you guys. God bless you!

And therefore we need to understand the purpose. There is a purpose to giving. God wants to make all grace abound to you so that at all times; having all that you need, you may abound in every good work. Because there is a purpose attached to it. The moment you understand that purpose – probably one of our best stories. It always seems to be around houses issues.

[Gives testimony: 85:39-85:50]

But just before we left, Pastor Phil announced the very first Vision Builders program, which was called, [86:00] ‘Capital Stewardship Program’ way back there. It was before ‘Rise and Build’. And you know what I thought to myself? I said, ‘Awesome! We’re outta here!’ [Laughter] ‘We don’t have to give!’

That’s my natural- you see- I’m actually- ah, ah- I’ve got some issues as well. Just like you. [Laughter] And I’m thinking, ‘Oh good! We’re outta here! We don’t have to give!’ And as quick as that [clicks[, the holy spirit said, ‘What do you mean? You’re part of this house. You’ll always be a part of this church. Get committed’.

[Keeps giving testimony: 86:27-90:09]

And it’s amazing when you understand the purpose of money and how powerful it is, God always comes through. Is that right? So I got the purpose of money.

The last thing is, (and I’ll finish on this), time’s up. Three-four things: the place, the purpose and the last thing is the priority of the tithe. Is the priority of the tithe. Man, I wish I had a bit more time to talk about the priority of the tithe.

You know there’s all sorts of views now in terms of the tithe. People say, [puts on scrawny voice] ‘Oh! It was part of the Law! It doesn’t belong in the New Testament now!”.

I’m telling you the tithe was PRE-LAW. It was BEFORE Moses. And the two most important powerful examples to me, from my point of view of the tithing, is Abraham and Jacob. Abraham, [91:00] (pre-Mosaic, pre-law), tithed. He had an encounter with Melchizedek that was like having an encounter with Christ. And as a natural result of that, he gave. He just said, “Ten percent?”. I mean, I don’t know? Where did he come up with that?

I’m going to give a tenth cos- I found that when we first came to Christ, our natural response was to give and to give a tenth and to give a tithe. It was awesome. And we established that for the last thirty two years of our life.

Secondly, Jacob one day was on his way to a particular place. Fell asleep, had an encounter God. Saw this open heaven over his life and angels ascending and descending. He woke up from this dream. And this famous quote in Genesis twenty eight says, “Wow! This is none other than the house of God; this is the gate of heaven’. And the next thing he did, says, “I’m gonna commit a ten percent of my income for the rest of my life and establish it-’

See as soon as you have an encounter with Christ, and soon as you have a revelation of the House of God, then the most natural response is to give- I know this, [92:00] and I haven’t got time to go into it. All the establishment that the tithe protects your life. And it gives you faith and confidence. We have walked through thirty two years of walking with Christ and we have never gone without. There’s been some tight times, there’s been some tough times, there’s been some challenging times, but God has always looked after us and eventually prospered our world according to his riches in glory

But I know- what is my confidence in? And I want to finish on this one word: confidence. What is your confidence in? Your confidence needs to be in the fact that the cornerstone of your financial world is the tithe. I know when I’m struggling with this- and right now- I’ve just finished and refinanced my mortgage, (and all the rest of it)- and I know it’s going to be okay because right here, in my spiritual life, I know about right there is the cornerstone of my financial experience, which is called the tithe. If I remove that! [93:00] If I remove that tithe, I’d be literally pulling apart the foundation of my financial future.

I wanna urge you, if you don’t tithe, TITHE!

Because here’s the deal; my faith in God is not based on his ability to provide. My faith in God is not based on his ability to provide. My faith in God is based upon the tithe which is the cornerstone, which keeps an open heaven above my life. (If we read Malachi 3.) That revelation alone has kept me confident, has kept me faith filled and has kept me secure in my walk with God.

And I get worried for people who go, ‘No! I won’t!’, ‘No! I’ll stop!’, ‘No! Oh whatever!”, but I know this: that that foundation is there.

Guys! If you just got water baptized, start tithing! Get that foundation stone firm in your world. So that [94:00] when you step out in faith, the corner of the platform is the tithe.

Some people- I see people all the time stepping out, ‘I believe God for this! I believe God for this”. And they fall over because this other thing which is more critical and crucial to the laying of a foundation is the key to this whole thing. That’s where my confidence is.

And people say, ‘Oh! How did you do this?’ and ‘How did you do this?’ and ‘How come that happened for your life?’ Through all the worst situations that we experienced and over all those years, in my heart of hearts, I knew that was [indecipherable], God would honour me. And he promised he would open the heavens, he would pour out so much blessing I can’t contain it. And he would rebuke the devourer off my life. And we experienced that for thirty two years.

And I would like every single one of you to experience that. And not go – cos here’s the deal! Even in your worst, financial situation- Seasons! And we’ve all had them. We’ve had seasons in which literally [95:00] we could only just enough food to get by. But I know we’ll get through this season because there’s something more critical as a foundation underneath that whole thing, called the tithe.

I would like to think that some of you tonight would have a revelation of that and go, ‘You know what! I’m going to get my spiritual, financial, things in order’.  And the moment you get that in order, suddenly you move forward. You don’t just move forward financially, you move forward in every other single way.

Who believes me tonight? Anybody? About four of you. That’s great!

You know, this is Pastor Mark talking tonight. Who knows I want to give you things that actually are real and true? [Crowd: Yes!]

I don’t want to give you things- I can hype you up, and I can convince you that God’s going to provide. And I can say, ‘C’mon! Let’s believe God for a miracle’. You know what? I believe less for miracles. I hardly ever believe for financial miracles. Hardly ever! [96:00]

I just put the things in place and let God and his purpose do the rest [crowd applauses]. That’s the deal! If you are believing in miracles all the time, you shouldn’t be believing for miracles. You just go, ‘You know God! I do this. Your Word says that. I’m giving to the purposes of God. [Claps hands] I’m going to break through. I will come through the other side’. How awesome is this! [No applause]

It’s great. I think we should stand to our feet right now. As we finish.

Here’s the deal. I know as a church we are moving into a new day.

I know this in the next little while, instead of twenty five, thirty, forty baptisms, we’re going to be seeing a hundred baptisms, two hundred baptisms. [Crowd: Yeah!] Who believes me anybody?

Who would like to see that? [Crowd: Yeah!]

We’re gonna see that. I tell ya, our ability as a church to move forward is not dislocated from what I just talked about tonight. Your strength financially, your strength spiritually is linked to your ability to [97:00] step out and to do what God has required us to do. And I don’t know about you but Pastor Phil might have talked about this last week, (I was preaching in one of our other churches last week), and I know he preached about tithing as well.

But here’s the deal, as we move into Vision Builders in the next few weeks; as we make commitments to see the physical House built; to see beyond purposes, initiatives grow; and to see the media and TV area grow throughout the whole world, you better have this foundation. This cornerstone in place, so that you give from faith based on that strength and based on that deal, that foundation in your world.

Why don’t we just close our eyes right now, look away to Jesus.

This may seem a real strange time to give an altar call for people to meet Christ, but I’m going to do it anyway. Because some of you are here and you don’t know God and your finances need saving. You heart needs saving. Your life needs saving. [98:00] The entry point in redemption to your finances is to know Christ Himself. Cos then he gives you the principles and the power to get things right in your life before God. If you’re here tonight and you’ve actually never met Christ, you’ve never given your life to him and shown him that you want his life in you.

Or maybe you’re here tonight and you once did know God and it’s time to return to God.

Or maybe you’re here and you don’t know that God is with you. Don’t know that God is for you. You don’t know that God is in your life. You don’t have that conviction. Don’t have that knowledge. If you don’t know him. You want to come back to him, or you want to be convinced that you have him in your heart, put your hand up and say, ‘Mark. That’s me. Pray for me. I want god in my world. I want to know him. I want christ. I want the god of provision. The god of life. The god of power in my world’. If that’s you, just lift your hand up and we’re going to pray and ask god to move in your life. [99:00] Just gonna wait for a few moments.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 64:10-99:03, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.

7 comments

  1. These are some of the highlights worth quoting:


    “Tonight I’m talking about finances. And I’m thinking, “Now the real test of the water baptism ah, is gonna be portrayed. Because really – because it’s – I love seeing people water baptised because it’s great and it’s comin, you know, killing the old life and brand new life being resurrected, it’s awesome.

    But it’s tomorrow when the rubber meets the road, whether we’re going to live that baptised life and whether every part of our life is baptised. Every part has to be baptised. Immersed in God. Immersed in the Holy Spirit. And ah – you know when you hit trials and what happens in those times? Do we live that resurrected “I’ve been baptised’ life? And that’s the deal. So we’re going to talk about finances…” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 64:09, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “So each man should give what he’s decided. But the issue is not whether you should give. Your choice is what you should give. That’s where you’ve got freedom. There should be no freedom in giving. We all should give. Because I think there should be an equal burden. Sorry – we should all carry a piece of the burden of seeing the body of Christ grow, seeing the city won for God. Who believes that? Anyone?

    It shouldn’t be on a few. If a few people scat- NO! Whatever you can carry, carry that! But your choice is what you’ve decided. But here’s the deal, ‘not reluctantly, or under compulsion’. Reluctance is internal negative pressure. Some people come to church and it’s like- they’ve got their hand break on. It’s reluctance. It’s like, “Oh! Here they go! It’s money again’.

    Suddenly the handbrake in them is like, ‘zzzheew!’ on the inside and there’s reluctance. Well God says, ‘Get rid of the reluctance! Don’t have reluctance! Come to church free with your handbrakes off! Come to church all- floppy and loose. And like you know, ready’. Because it’s when the handbrake is off, then joyfulness can be a part of your life. Then you worship with joy. You give with joy. You hang out and fellowship with joy.

    Release the reluctance. So if there’s any reluctance in you. Get rid of it! Those of you who got baptized, [Points to C3 baptism pool] that water is filled with reluctance right now’. That water is water reluctance. I can’t even imagine how dirty that water is. It’s been coming out of that drain right now. Reluctance is gone.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 81:52-22, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “But also that other thing that’s gone is compulsion. Now compulsion is external negative pressure. That is from us, from me, from anyone in this pulpit, we will not give you external negative pressure: ‘You must give’ and ‘The thing’ and [inauble]. That’s it!

    We remove all that. We want you to give out of faith. We want you to give out of inspiration. We want you to give out of your commitment. They’ll be never, ever, ever any external compulsions. Why? Because God loves a cheerful giver. And it’s cheerful giving. Giving that is free based on truth. And then you discover the purpose of giving.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 83:22, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “Check this scripture out. Keep going. The next verse. “And God is able…” Everybody say God is able, [audience repeats], ‘to make all grace abound to you so then in all things, at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work”. And there we see, the purpose of giving. If we go back there on verse- “every good works”. Say ‘every good works’. [audience repeats]. See here’s the deal. God wants you to be provided for, so that when every good work comes, you may be able to give- next verse. “And it is written, “He has scattered abroad his gifts to the poor. His righteousness endures forever”. I love that!

    I would love the sense that we as believers have the ability to scatter. You’ve got enough finances. So you just throw it out there, your finances scattered to the poor. I get surprised how much out of this house goes to people in need, goes to people because of social justice issues, goes to the poor, goes to the street kids, goes to the kids in Sri Lanka, goes to the kids in Indonesia. It’s amazing what happens. We- you guys are (85:06) scattering your gifts to the poor all over the world. How awesome is that? I think the Lord deserves a hand just for that- and you guys. God bless you!

    And therefore we need to understand the purpose. There is a purpose to giving. God wants to make all grace abound to you so that at all times; having all that you need, you may abound in every good work. Because there is a purpose attached to it. The moment you understand that purpose – probably one of our best stories…” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 83:58-85:40, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “And it’s amazing when you understand the purpose of money and how powerful it is, God always comes through. Is that right? So I got the purpose of money.
    The last thing is, (and I’ll finish on this), time’s up. Three-four things: the place, the purpose and the last thing is the priority of the tithe. Is the priority of the tithe. I wish I had a bit more time to talk about the priority of the tithe. You know there’s all sorts of views now in terms of the tithe. People say, [puts on scrawny voice] ‘Oh! It was part of the Law! It doesn’t belong in the New Testament now!”.

    I’m telling you the tithe was PRE-LAW. It was BEFORE Moses. And the two most important powerful examples to me, from my point of view of the tithing, is Abraham and Jacob. Abraham, (pre-Mosaic, pre-law), tithed. He had an encounter with Melchizedek that was like having an encounter with Christ. And as a natural result of that, he gave. He just said, “Ten percent?”. I mean, I don’t know. Where did he come up with that?

    I’m going to give a tenth cos- I found that when we first came to Christ, our natural response was to give and to give a tenth. And to give a tithe. It was awesome. And we established that for the last thirty two years of our life.

    Secondly, Jacob one day was on his way to a particular place. Fell asleep, had an encounter God. Saw this open heaven over his life and angels ascending and descending. He woke up from this dream. And this famous quote in Genesis 28 says, “Wow! This is none other than the house of God; this is the gate of heaven’. And the next thing he did, says, “I’m gonna commit a ten percent of my income for the rest of my life and establish it-’

    So as soon as you have an encounter with Christ, and soon as you have a revelation of the House of God, then the most natural response is to give-” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 90:09-91:59, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “I know this, and I haven’t got time to go into it. All the establishment that the tithe protects your life. And it gives you faith and confidence. We have walked through thirty two years of walking with Christ and we’ve never gone without. There’s been some tight times. There’s been some tough times, there’s been some challenging times, but God has always looked after us and eventually prospered our world according to his riches in glory.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 91:59-92:27, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “But I know- what is my confidence in? And I want to finish on this one word: confidence. What is your confidence in? Your confidence needs to be in the fact that the cornerstone of your financial world is the tithe. I know when I’m struggling with this- and right now- I’ve just finished and refinanced my mortgage [inaudible]- and I know it’s going to be okay because right here in my spiritual life, I know about right there is my cornerstone of my financial experience, which is called the tithe. If I remove that! If I remove that tithe, I’d be literally pulling apart the foundation of my financial future.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 92:27-93:07, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “I wanna urge you, that if you don’t tithe, TITHE!” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 93:07-93:11, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “I wanna urge you, that if you don’t tithe, TITHE! Because here’s the deal; my faith in God is not based on his ability to provide. My faith in God is not based on his ability to provide. My faith in God is based upon the tithe which is the cornerstone, which keeps an open heaven above my life. (If we read Malachi 3.) That revelation alone has kept me confident, has kept me faith filled and has kept me secure in my walk with God.

    And I get worried for people who go, ‘No! I won’t!’, ‘No! I’ll stop!’, ‘No! Oh whatever!”, but I know this: that foundation is there. ” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 93:07-93:51, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “Guys! If you just got water baptized, start tithing! Get that foundation stone firm in your world. So that when you step out in faith, the corner of the platform is the tithe.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 93:51-94:06, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “I see people all the time stepping out, ‘I believe God for this! I believe God for this”. And they fall over because this other thing which is more critical and crucial to the laying of a foundation is the key to this whole thing. That’s where my confidence is.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 93:51-94:22, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “And people say, ‘Oh! How did you do this?’ and ‘How did you do this?’ and ‘How come that happened for your life?’ Through all the worst situations that we experienced and over all those years, in my heart of hearts, I knew that was [indecipherable], God would honour me. And he promised he would open the heavens, he would pour out so much blessing I can’t contain it. And he would rebuke the devourer off my life. And we experienced that for thirty two years.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 94:22-94:47, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “[Continued] And I would like every single one of you to experience that. And not go – Cos here’s the deal! Even in your worst, financial situation- Seasons! And we’ve all had them. We’ve had seasons in which literally we could only just enough food to get by. But I know we’ll get through this season because there’s something more critical as a foundation underneath that whole thing, called the tithe.

    I would like to think that some of you tonight would have a revelation of that and go, ‘You know what! I’m going to get my spiritual, financial, things in order’. And the moment you get that in order, suddenly you move forward. You don’t just move forward financially, you move forward in every other single way.

    Who believes me tonight? Anybody? About four of you. That’s great!” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 94:47-95:33, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “[Continued] You know, this is Pastor Mark talking tonight. Who knows I want to give you things that actually are real and true? [Crowd: Yes!]

    I don’t want to give you things- I can hype you up, and I can convince you that God’s going to provide. And I can say, ‘C’mon! Let’s believe God for a miracle’. You know what? I believe less for miracles. I hardly ever believe for financial miracles. Hardly ever.

    I just put the things in place and let God and his purpose do the rest [crowd applauses]. That’s the deal! If you are believing in miracles all the time, you shouldn’t be believing for miracles. You just go, ‘You know God! I do this. Your Word says that. I’m giving to the purposes of God. [Claps hands] I’m going to break through. I will come through the other side’. How awesome is this! [No applause]

    It’s great. I think we should stand to our feet right now. As we finish.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 95:33-96:24, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “[Continued] Here’s the deal. I know as a church we are moving into a new day.
    I know this in the next little while, instead of twenty five, thirty, forty baptisms, we’re going to be seeing a hundred baptisms, two hundred baptisms. [Crowd: Yeah!] Who believes me anybody?
    Who would like to see that? [Crowd: Yeah!]

    We’re gonna see that. I tell ya, our ability as a church to move forward is not dislocated from what I just talked about tonight. Your strength financially, your strength spiritually is linked to your ability to step out and to do what God has required us to do. And I don’t know about you but Pastor Phil might have talked about this last week, (I was preaching in one of our other churches last week), and I know he preached about tithing as well.

    But here’s the deal, as we move into Vision Builders in the next few weeks; as we make commitments to see the physical House built; to see beyond purposes, initiatives grow; and to see the media and TV area grow throughout the whole world, you better have this foundation. This cornerstone in place, so that you give from faith based on that strength and based on that deal, that foundation in your world.” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 96:24-97:39, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


    “[Continued] Why don’t we just close our eyes right now, look away to Jesus.
    This may seem a real strange time to give an altar call for people to meet Christ, but I’m going to do it anyway. Because some of you are hear and you don’t know God and your finances need saving. You heart needs saving. Your life needs saving. The entry point in redemption to your finances is to know Christ Himself. Cos then he gives you the principles and the power to get things right in your life before God. If you’re here tonight and you’ve actually never met Christ, you’ve never given your life to him and shown him that you want his life in you.

    Or maybe you’re here tonight and you once did know God and it’s time to return to God.

    Or maybe you’re here and you don’t know that God is with you. Don’t know that God is for you. You don’t know that God is in your life. You don’t have that conviction. Don’t have that knowledge. If you don’t know him. You want to come back to him, or you want to be convinced that you have him in your heart, put your hand up and say, ‘Mark. That’s me. Pray for me. I want god in my world. I want to know him. I want christ. I want the god of provision. The god of life. The god of power in my world’. If that’s you, just lift your hand up and we’re going to pray and ask god to move in your life. Just gonna wait for a few moments…” – Mark Kelsey, Ps Mark Kelsey: Financial Excellence – Tithing: 96:24-99:02, http://www2.myc3church.net/videos/ps-mark-kelsey-financial-excellence-tithing, 6pm, 29/05/2011.


  2. The dude elevates the tithe above Christ and His DBR


  3. clearly th context is saying his faith for financial provision comes from the tithe… if you agree with tithing the theology- if you dont believe in the tithe then the whole thing will be totally out of whack not just that statement..


  4. DBR?

    I am really concerned what Mark Kelsey has built his house on.

    Is he building his life on the teachings of Christ? (The wiseman who built his house upon the rock.) Or the worldly irrelevant gnostic teachings on how to get greedy?? (The foolish man who built his house on the sand.)

    The fact that he replaces the actual person of Jesus Christ with money is even more troubling. The scriptures say that Jesus and his teachings are our corner stone and foundation stone.

    Psalm 118:22
    “The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone”

    Isaiah 28:16
    “So this is what the Sovereign LORD says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who trusts will never be dismayed.”

    Zechariah 10:4
    “From Judah will come the cornerstone, from him the tent peg, from him the battle bow, from him every ruler.”

    Matt 21:42
    “Then Jesus asked them, “Didn’t you ever read this in the Scriptures? ‘The stone that the builders rejected has now become the cornerstone…””

    Acts 4:10-12
    “… let it be known to all of you and to all the people of Israel that by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead—by him this man is standing before you well.

    This Jesusa is the stone that was rejected by you, the builders, which has become the cornerstone. And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.””

    Romans 9:33
    “As it is written: “See, I lay in Zion a stone that causes men to stumble and a rock that makes them fall, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame.””

    1 Corinthians 3:10-11
    “By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should be careful how he builds. For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.”

    Ephesians 2:19-20
    “Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and aliens, but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of God’s household, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone.”

    1Peter 2:4
    “You are coming to Christ, who is the living cornerstone of God’s temple. He was rejected by people, but he was chosen by God for great honor.”

    1Peter 2:6-8
    “For it stands in Scripture:
    “Behold, I am laying in Zion a stone, a cornerstone chosen and precious,
    and whoever believes in him will not be put to shame.”
    So the honor is for you who believe, but for those who do not believe,
    “The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone,”
    and
    “A stone of stumbling, and a rock of offense.””


  5. Phil Pringle retweeted Vicky Simpsons tweet here about Mark Kelsey’s sermon:

    “RT @vickiasimpson: Watching @markkelsey online. I am going to rewatch that message 100x. What fantastic faith building teaching.” – Phil Pringle, Twitter, via TweetDeck, 2:36AM, 03/06/2011.


  6. @jakeelliot that was a completely different message.. not the one in question here. the dates dont match up… on pretty much everything else(and often even the subject of finance) mark is a theologically sound teacher… IMO.


  7. I did not think I was going out on a limb, especially since it seemed both morning and night times services seemed to indicate that Pringle was absent from those services. Simpson is often preaching or prophesyng elsewhere as well.

    The services are usually uploaded in the next two or three days. This is when both Simpson made their comment about watching Kelsey online. She endorsed it. The fact that Pringle retweeted it shows that he endorses it too.

    Rather then say it ‘was a completely different message’, can you please provide what sermon they were commenting on cheerupcharlie?



Leave a Reply

